Amsterdam is the European Capital of Innovation 2016

13 Apr 2016 | Genoveva Geppaart

« Back to Features

The European Commission announced Friday 8 April 2016 that Amsterdam has been awarded the title of European Capital of Innovation (iCapital). Every two years European cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants can apply for the title European Capital of Innovation. In 2014 Barcelona was the first iCapital.


Choice for Amsterdam

A jury of independent experts chose Amsterdam because of its bottom-up approach based on smart growth, start-ups, livability and digital social innovation. Amsterdam's prize of €950,000 will be used to scale up and expand its efforts on innovation. Two more cities, Turin and Paris, were selected as runners-up, and will receive prizes of €100,000 and €50,000 respectively


Share with