Reviews

10 Jun 2013

« Back to Features


App Talk Summer: Getting Creative

by Fiona Passantino
June 2014

Summer is the time to get creative and get our hands dirty. As we travel on long airplane rides, stay with Grandparents or at a beachside hotel, getting creative means keeping purple finger marks off the sofa. Creative tablet apps are great for long train or plane trips and are much kinder to the AirBNB host’s walls. Here are a few we like for kids in the 4+ category.

Read more...

 

App Talk Spring: Learning about Science

by Fiona Passantino
March 2014

Spring is the time to examine bugs under a microscope, follow the flight paths of butterflies, dig for dinosaur bones and learn about the stars. This spring we take a look at science learning apps for tablet and phone.

Read more...

 

Salvi & Maya discover the Netherlands - Book review

by Laila Borrie
Febuary 2014

Perfect for introducing international children to all things Dutch - 'Salvi & Maya discover the Netherlands' is a very interesting book written by Mariem Aameyri with beautiful illustrations by Luuk Barink. As its name suggests, this is a story about two children, who discover different places in the Netherlands and learn interesting facts about Dutch culture. This book is available in 3 languages : English, Dutch and Spanish

Read more...

 

App Talk Winter: The Holiday Edition

by Fiona Passantino
December 2013

Amazingly, the holidays are upon us. And while our kids are in a state of sugar-anticipation-frenzy starting with the bag of candy from Halloween, through the Sint and straight to Christmas, we can at least calm them down a bit with a few cute apps to get us all through. It is, a lovely time of year and we should be stopping to smell (and drink!) the glühwein.

Read more...

 

App Talk Autumn: Special Needs

by Fiona Passantino
10 September 2013

Summer is over and it’s time to gear up for a return to school for our little and not-so-little ones. This edition focuses on our visual learners and children with special needs. As a parent of an autistic child, this is a particularly personal issue to me, and these little folks need more support in their daily lives than others.

Read more...

 

Anna's New Room - book review

By Sonia Nding
5 September 2013

This fiction book describes Anna’s new life, how she has to adjust to her new country, new house, new school and friends. Children may find it useful to help them adjust to life in a new country. 

Read more...

 

App Talk Summer

by Fiona Passantino
26 June 2013

Fiona Passantino reviews children's apps with a touch of mythology. Prep your children for the summer holiday with apps which are fun and educational.

Read more...

 

App Talk

by Fiona Passantino
29 May 2013

Through this series, Fiona Passantino extols the virtues of apps for children in the learning potential that they offer and will review four kids' apps for under fives per quarter. She runs her own app development company and is based in The Hague with her husband and in-house app testers and debuggers, her children aged four and nine.

Read more...

 

Expat Women: confessions - Book review

By Sonia Nding
1 April 2013

Read our review of this collection of questions and answers of expat issues from the the expatwomen website.

Read more... 

 

An Inconvenient Posting - Book Review

By Sonia Nding
6 March 2013

Read our review of an autobiographical memoir by an expat wife regarding her feelings of lost identity and unexpected depression upon moving country. Complete with tips of how to alleviate or diminish these feelings. 

Read more...

 

Expat Life Slice by Slice - Book review

By Roy Lie A Tjam
12 July 2012

I had the privilege of meeting Apple Gidley at the launching of this book at the Expat Archive Centre The Hague on 21 June 2012. In Slice by Slice she takes you with her on her fascinating journey of being an expat in Nigeria, Malaysia, Holland and even Trinidad & Tobago in the Caribbean.

Read more...

 

Expat Teens Talk - Book review

By Rawia Liverpool
22 May 2012

As a mother of two expatriate teenagers, I was very curious about Expat Teens Talk. Dr. Lisa Pittman and Diana Smit, by writing this book, have filled a gap in the market.

Read more... 

5 Febuary 2014

Perfect for introducing international children to all things Dutch - 'Salvi & Maya discover the Netherlands' is a very interesting book written by Mariem Aameyri with beautiful illustrations by Luuk Barink. As its name suggests, this is a story about two children, who discover different places in the Netherlands and learn interesting facts about Dutch culture. This book is available in 3 languages : English, Dutch and Spanish

Share with